Sir Christopher Longshanks and His Lady

After months of waiting, my parents, warmly referred to as Chris and Michelle, finally made it to London. When I met them at the hotel I was greeted by a woman with straight hair, and a man with a goatee, could it really be them?! Luckily it was, and we were off to have an amazing week.

The highlights, you ask? (Actually I’m just going to write down everything, because it was all amazing! A picture’s worth a thousand words if you don’t want to read..) This is a long one, you’ve been warned.

Day One – March 20

The Victoria & Albert Museum

We spent an amazing amount of time here. I found out that my parents are quite the museum buffs. We went into room, after room, after room, after room. Chris was stunned, “I can’t believe how much stuff they have in here.”

On the way there we watched two people get closed in between the Tube doors, and when I tell you that never happens, I mean that never ever happens. It definitely tainted our Tube experiences from then on out. Whose card wouldn’t tap? Who forgot their Oyster card in the hotel? Proud of both of them for rallying and taking the Tube as often as we did. (And by “both of them” I mean Chris.)

The Golden Hind

We had to do the London thing and get fish and chips. Mary and I know a little place called the Golden Hind. It’s super simple: BYOB and fish and chips. Chris and Michelle obviously loved it, and they got to meet Mary for the first time so how awesome is that?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Day Two – March 21

Harrods

I thought we would do a quick in and out with Harrods. See the shops, buy a few souvenirs, move along, but of course we ended up staying there for three hours. The majority of our time was spent in the food halls, we looked at the salamis, the meats, the candy, the bread, the baked goods, the middle eastern food, the cookie jars, everything! Looking back I totally should’ve expected it. Michael couldn’t join us on this trip, but Chris did find the “Millionaire’s Gallery” and a £16,000 signed Michael Jackson album so it’s like he was here with us.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Nobu

I’ve been looking forward to this Nobu meal since I landed, it was everything I’d hoped. Getting a bento box would be the highlight of a NYC trip for Michael and I, so naturally it was one of the highlights of this trip.

Buckingham Palace

“Nicole, what’s this one called again?” Yup, Mom that would be Buckingham Palace. We took a lovely stroll around the palace and St. James’s Park for the afternoon.

The National Gallery, Relative Values and Burgers

We hit up another museum, The National Gallery in Trafalgar Square. This museum is all art, very similar to the MFA, but we got to see Van Gogh’s Sunflowers so that was great! Day Two ended with a play, Relative Values, and some burgers at Byron – always delish.

Day Three – March 22

Westminster Abbey

Over 1,000 souls are buried in the abbey, along with three hours of our day! We got the audio guide and did not miss a single detail in that church. We weaved in and out of chapels the whole morning, definitely learned a ton. You have to pay to get into Westminster so I was waiting to do it with them, and I am so glad I didn’t miss this.

A really tall king is buried in Westminster Abbey, they called him Edward “Longshanks,” so forget it. For the rest of the trip my dad referred to himself as Sir Christopher Longshanks.

Borough Market

Borough Market is dedicated to food, vendors from all over the world sell cheeses, meats, sauces, literally everything. Chris and Michelle obviously went crazy here. (“Look at these olives!” “Oh my god this cheese.” “That’s the next big thing, Nicole, I know it.” etc)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tower Bridge

Classic photo spot. 🙂

Le Relais de Venise

For dinner we met our cousin Francesca at Le Relais de Venise. All they serve is salad, French fries, and skirt steak. All you have to decide is how you want it cooked. Hellooooo how perfect, way to make it easy

Day Four – March 23

Mom’s Birthday

British Museum

We powered through the British Museum, we did it in just under an hour! We saw mummies, the Rosetta Stone, and all the other things that are packed into that museum.

Santorini’s

We were feeling Greek food, so we searched and searched and searched (for over an hour) and finally found a place! Super small, totally worth it, finally had some lamb.

Häagen-Dazs

Happy birthday, Michelle! We went to the Häagen-Dazs for some dessert and to celebrate Mom’s birthday. She got a happy birthday plate, Chris kept making fun of a waitress who he named Bertha, and it was just too classic.

 

Day Five – March 24

The London Eye

            Hands down my favorite experience in London. It’s a half an hour of peace and quiet with amazing views everywhere you looked. Could not be happier that I did the Eye with my parents, it closed of their trip so wonderfully. We took the bus to dinner, 99% sure my dad liked it significantly more than he did the Tube.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mom and Dad, thank you for an unbelievable week! Miss you so much all ready

All my love,

Nicole

Mary and I went to Budapest this weekend so be sure to read about it here!

Make sure you click on the big plus sign to see my latest tweets and Instagrams, all my other posts can be found here!

One thought on “Sir Christopher Longshanks and His Lady

  1. Pingback: Budapest Bound! | Nicole

Leave a Reply

